MINUTES SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BUFFALO AND ERIE COUNTY PUBLIC LIBRARY BOARD OF TRUSTEES June 11, 2011

A special meeting of the Board of Trustees of the Buffalo and Erie County Public Library was held on Saturday, June 11, 2011, in the Central Library pursuant to due notice to trustees and to the public. The following members were present:

Sharon A. Thomas, Chair
Jack Connors, Vice Chair
Amy Alvarez Perez
Frank Gist
Phyllis A. Horton
Sharon M. Kelly
Anne M. Leary
Elaine M. Panty
John G. Schmidt, Jr. (via conference call & in person)
Judith K. Summer

Rebecca L. Pordum, Trustee Emeritus

Absent:

Richard L. Berger Rick Lewis Hormoz Mansouri Albert L. Michaels Wayne D. Wisbaum

Chair Sharon A. Thomas called the meeting to order and recognized a quorum at 12:10 p.m. in the Joseph B. Rounds Conference Room. Trustee Schmidt was in attendance via conference call at the start of the meeting and then joined the meeting in person at approximately 1:03 p.m.

Agenda Item B – Approval/Changes to the Agenda. There were no changes to the agenda.

Agenda Item C – Report of the Chair. Ms. Thomas welcomed trustees to the meeting for the purpose of conducting deliberations concerning the two finalist candidates, Jeffrey Cannell and Luren Dickinson, for the position of B&ECPL Director.

Ms. Thomas entertained a motion to enter Executive Session. A motion was made by Mr. Connors, seconded by Ms. Panty, and approved unanimously at 12:11 p.m.

Minutes of the Board of Trustees Page 2

Ms. Thomas asked June Garcia and Susan Kent of the interim transitional team, Sheldon Berlow of the Search Committee and Dr. Paul Wietig who was representing Suzanne Jacobs, ACT President, from the Search Committee to remain for Executive Session. Deputy Directors Mary Jean Jakubowski and Kenneth Stone were called in individually for part of the Executive Session. Trustee Alvarez Perez joined Executive Session at 12:13 p.m. Trustee Schmidt joined Executive Session at approximately 1:03 p.m.

At approximately 2:05 p.m., on motion by Ms. Panty, seconded by Ms. Summer, after unanimous approval, the Board concluded Executive Session. No action had been taken in Executive Session.

There being no further business, on motion by Mr. Schmidt with a second by Ms. Horton, the meeting was adjourned at 2:06 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Sharon A. Thomas Chair